Born in 1980, Yves Chauris graduated from the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris winning several first prizes. He received numerous fellowships and awards, including the Prix de Fondation Francis et Mica Salabert (2005), the Prix Pierre Cardin (2008) and the Prix Hervé Dugardin (Sacem, 2019). From 2008 to 2010, Yves Chauris was member of the artistic division of Casa de Velázquez in Madrid and resident at Villa Kujoyama in Japan in 2011. Invited by Renaud Capuçon, he takes part in the Aix-en-Provence New Horizons festival 2020.

He has been perfomed by orchestras such as the SWR Sinfonieorchester, BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Orchestre National de France, Orchestre National d'Ile de France, by ensembles such as Intercontemporain, Itinéraire, At Musica, Sillages, Diotima and Tana string quartets, by soloists and conductors such as Jean-Guihen Queyras, Bertrand Chamayou, Jean-Frédéric Neuburger, Nicolas Hodges, François-Xavier Roth, Pablo Heras-Casado, Nicholas Collon, Tito Ceccherini, and particularly at New York Carnegie Hall, Amsterdam Concertgebouw, Ars Musica Brussels, Festival Présences Radio-France, Musica Strasbourg, Roque d’Anthéron, Cité de la Musique (Paris), Donaueschinger Musiktage (Germany).

Yves Chauris teaches musical composition at the Conservatory of Cergy-Pontoise and contemporary music within the department of pedagogy of the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique of Paris CNSMDP. He is currently mentor for the Women Composer Academy of the Chamber Orchestra of Paris.

  • 2025

    Violin concerto
    Renaud Capuçon
  • 2019

    Two premieres | Festival Présences
    Radio France
  • 2017

    Premiere | Carnegie Hall
    New York
  • 2015

    Why so quiet
    SWR Sinfonieorchester
    Closing concert, Donaueschinger Musiktage
  • 2014

    Un minimum de monde visible
    Ensemble Intercontemporain
    Pablo Heras-Casado
    Amsterdam Concertgebouw
  • 2011

    Residence at the Villa Kujoyama,
    Kyoto, Japan
  • 2010

    Solitude, récif, étoile
    BBC National Orchestra of Wales
    François-Xavier Roth
  • 2010 | 2008

    Residence at the Casa de Velázquez,
    Madrid, Spain
  • 2008

    Awarded Pierre Cardin prize for musical composition
  • 2005

    Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris
    Composition degree with unanimous high honours
    Awarded Fondation Francis et Mika Salabert prize