Yves Chauris, born in 1980, studied at Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris, where he was awarded several prizes in composition, analysis, and orchestration. He later received numerous fellowships and awards, including the Jean-Walter-Zellidja Prix, Académie Française, the Prix de Fondation Francis et Mica Salabert (2005) and Prix Pierre Cardin (2008).

His concerto for piano and orchestra ...solitude, récif, étoile… was premiered by Jean-Frédéric Neuburger and then performed by Orchestre National d'Ile-de-France and BBC National Orchestra of Wales under the direction of François-Xavier Roth. In 2010, Chauris composed his first string quartet, I hear bodies, for Quatuor Diotima, while in 2012 the second quartet followed, Shakkei for Quatuor Tana. Un minimum de monde visible was performed in 2014 by Ensemble intercontemporain conducted by Pablo Heras-Casado in Amsterdam Concertgebouw, at Paris Cité de la musique and in Bordeaux and Anvers.

From September 2008 to July 2010, Yves Chauris was a member of the artistic division of Casa de Velázquez in Madrid; in 2011 he was fellow at Villa Kujoyama in Kyoto. He is currently working on commissions for the Ensemble Sillages and a work to be performed by Jean-Guihen Queyras and Alexander Melnikov at Carnegie Hall.


Premiere | Carnegie Hall

New York

Why so quiet

SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg

Donaueschinger Musiktage

Un minimum de monde visible

Ensemble Intercontemporain

Pablo Heras-Casado

Amsterdam Concertgebouw

Residence at the Villa Kujoyama,

Kyôto, Japan

Solitude, récif, étoile

BBC National Orchestra of Wales

François-Xavier Roth

Residence at the Casa de

Velázquez, Madrid, Spain

Awarded Pierre Cardin prize for musical composition

Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris composition degree with unanimous high honours

Awarded Fondation Francis et Mika Salabert prize






2010 |